Notes and Note Cards

For some months, I’ve been feeling a bit ‘stalled’ artistically. In part, the time consumed by my ‘day job’ simply didn’t leave much for artistic work, in time, or energy. I managed to comfortably occupy myself creatively with simple pen & ink note cards, which I get considerable joy out of creating, and even more using them as my own stationary, to communicate with friends, family, and loved ones far away.

Art doesn't have to be serious, complicated, or big. :-)

Art doesn’t have to be serious, complicated, or big. 🙂

I spent time sketching other, bigger, projects and made a point of making notes about ideas for other pieces.

My sketchbook is full.

My sketchbook is full.

Life has been comfortably good, with the usual ups and downs a human being can expect over time, and that’s been enough for contentment, generally, but hasn’t tended to motivate me artistically. I’ve had resources, space, inspiration – and now and then, even the time to work – something has been missing, and even now I am not sure what that missing element was.

On a Friday in May – Friday the 13th, actually – I woke up to a terrible morning. In the process of turning the day around, I ended up in the studio, and actually painting… I haven’t stopped. Whatever was missing has been found. 🙂  I’ll be posting images and details of the new work over the next several days, before heading to the trees for additional inspiration.

Leave a Reply

